# **ELECTED**

# MINUTES and PROCEEDINGS of the INAUGURAL SESSION of THE CORPORATION of the COUNTY OF LAMBTON

**December 10, 2014** 

Lambton County Council met on the above date at 1:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers, County Building, Wyoming, for the Inaugural Meeting for the years 2015 - 2016.

The Clerk called the meeting to order and called the Roll. All members were present.

The Members of Lambton County Council for 2015 - 2016 are as follows:

Brooke-Alvinston	Mayor	Don McGugan
Dawn-Euphemia	Mayor	Al Broad
Enniskillen	Mayor	<b>Kevin Marriott</b>
Lambton Shores	Mayor	Bill Weber
	Deputy Mayor	Doug Cook
Oil Springs	Mayor	Ian Veen
Petrolia	Mayor	John McCharles
Plympton-Wyoming	Mayor	Lonny Napper
Point Edward	Mayor	Larry MacKenzie
Sarnia	Mayor	Mike Bradley
	Councillor	Andy Bruziewicz
	Councillor	Bev MacDougall
	Councillor	David Boushy
	Councillor	Anne Marie Gillis
St. Clair	Mayor	Steve Arnold
	Deputy Mayor	Peter Gilliland
Warwick	Mayor	Todd Case

The Clerk welcomed the guests, then announced that the initial duty at the Inaugural Session of Lambton County Council for the years 2015 - 2016 was to elect a Warden for 2015 - 2016.

A secret ballot was taken during which time the past Wardens were introduced. Councillor Gilliland and Councillor MacKenzie acted as scrutineers. It was then announced by the Chair Bilton, that Ms. <u>Bev MacDougall</u> was chosen as the 156<sup>th</sup> Warden for 2015 - 2016.

<u>#1:</u> Arnold/Case: That Ms. <u>Bev MacDougall</u> be elected as Warden of Lambton County for the years 2015 - 2016.

Carried.

#### Election of the Deputy Warden for the Years 2015 - 2016

At this time, it was the duty of Lambton County Council to elect a Deputy Warden. A secret ballot was taken and it was then announced by the Chair that Mr. <u>Ian Veen</u> was chosen as Deputy Warden for the years 2015 - 2016.

# **ELECTED**

Lambton County Council Inaugural Session – December 10, 2014 (page 2)

#3: McGugan/Gillis: That Mr. <u>Ian Veen</u> be elected as Deputy Warden for the years 2015 - 2016.

Carried.

<u>#4:</u> McCharles/Bruziewicz: That the Clerk destroy the ballots.

Carried.

The Reverend Daniel Roushorne was invited within the Bar to give the Invocation.

The Warden was then escorted to his/her office by the runner-up, where she donned the traditional gown. Mr. David Cummings then piped in Mrs. Bev MacDougall to the Council Chambers.

The Warden declared her oath of office before the Council and all those present and was sworn in by Her Worship, Justice of the Peace, Helen Gale.

The Clerk invited past Warden Todd Case to present the Chain of Office, keys, gavel and the Procedures Manual to the new Warden.

Warden MacDougall spoke briefly on her new position.

Letters of congratulations from Mrs. Pat Davidson, MP Sarnia-Lambton and Mr. Bob Bailey, MP Lambton-Kent-Middlesex were read.

Warden MacDougall requested a recess to allow the four municipal groups to meet to select their members on the Striking Committee for 2015 - 2016.

The Striking Committee met.

Council reconvened for the regular Council Session at 2:55 p.m.

The Clerk presented the Striking Committee minutes dated December 10, 2014.

The Clerk read the minutes of the Striking Committee.

<u>#5:</u> Weber/McCharles: That the Striking Committee minutes dated December 10, 2014 be adopted as read.

Carried.

Council then recessed for the Standing Committees to select a Chair and Vice-Chair.

#### <u>Minutes</u>

The following minutes were read by the Clerk:

Committee A.M. dated December 10, 2014; and,

Committee P.M. dated December 10, 2014.

#6: Veen/Bruziewicz: That the Committee A.M. and Committee P.M. minutes dated December 10, 2014 be adopted as read.

Carried.

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

#### Correspondence to Receive and File

#7: Bradley/Napper: That Councillor Anne Marie Gillis be nominated and supported by the County of Lambton as per correspondence CC 12-01-14 concerning a Board vacancy for Ontario for the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM).

Carried.

#### Oil Springs Levee

Deputy Warden Veen invited all to the Mayor's Levee taking place on January 2, 2015 from 7-9 p.m. at the Oil Springs Youth Centre. All are welcome to attend.

#### By-Laws

#8: Cook/Case: That By-Laws #1 and #2 of 2015, as circulated, be taken as read a first and second time.

Carried.

#9: Bruziewicz/Broad: That By-Laws #1 and #2 of 2015, as circulated, be taken as read a third time and finally passed.

Carried.

# **ELECTED**

Lambton County Council Inaugural Session – December 10, 2014 (page 4)

### <u>Adjournment</u>

#10: MacKenzie/Boushy: That the Warden declare the meeting adjourned with the next meeting to be held on Wednesday, February 4th, 2015 at 9:00 a.m. commencing with the In-Camera Session in Committee Room #3.

Carried.

Time: 3:15 p.m.

Bev MacDougall Warden	
David Cribbs	
County Clerk	